(a preambule) If you want to run, run a mile

If you want to experience a different life, run a marathon – Emil Zatopek

 

*setelah setahun sebelumnya nonton film ini*

The thought that come to my mind from the end of last year and thinking on what event should I do in nailing my virgin FM. MWM  crossed my mind since I want to reunite with friends from Gaited Community. Aster had allowed me to stay at her house. But I only had less than 16 weeks to practice, and considering that I’m bad at endurance, I skip that part. Later, this event turn to something like fun race due to (lagi-lagi) haze! gee…

Then (of course) thinking of doing (the marathon) in Bali but the EO hasn’t announce the official date.

Circa  January or Febuary, I was in Galau Mode-ON-macam-abg-labil to decide which I should do first, Triathlon (as I just bought a bike) or FM in Bali. Then the EO sent email they can’t announce the official date yet due to general election coming up. So I signed up for Batam Tri, Bromo Half Marathon as a prep to  Jakarta Marathon. (Last two races had announced their official date).

Ini pun masih  nanya sama teman-teman yang pernah ikutan BMBM, FM di JakMar maupun SCM Singapore, almost all of them opined that JakMar is tougher. Much tougher.

I think around March or April the EO finally announce the date. *masih galau ngga jelas* I signed up for FM anyway since my friend Roy  si kacrut dipastikan akan komen “kalau mau HM mah di Bulevard (bintaro) ajaaa”  -___-

Dan masih mikir bawa anak apa engga 😀, since I understand that I would be shut down after the race :D. Gai, my friend from GC had remind me as well. I decided to bring them along since my sister are taking her family as well.

Training Plan

I used myasic application. Sempat di reset beberapa kali 😀 (awalnya di set buat JakMar, lalu dirubah jadi BMBM). Sempat kedodoran di awal karena pegel-pegel abis Batam Tri (read : malas). I think I managed to complete 80% of the training plan.

At Ramadhan, this training plan was completely a mess. My late  mother was very ill than  decided to cancel this race trip if her condition get worst. Ok, the rest is history now. Oh my Godness,  I’m teary when I write this part.  😦

After Syawal, I tried to stick with the plan again. Managed to have a very long run (31km it was) from Bintaro – JPG – BSD – Alam Sutera – Graha raya and back to Bintaro 3 weeks before race day. When you do longest run before the race, you may also figure what you might need during the race (for intake purpose). I figured I would need 4-5 salt sticks, 4 dates and 2 granola bars (read: soy joy) and….plenty of electrolyte drink :D. The best electrolyte drink is kelapa muda sampe hapal gw tukang jualan kelapa muda di sepanjang Tanggerang Selatan yang gw lewatin kemarin 😀 . Well, for the race of course I’ll be counting on the water stations for the electrolyte drink.

Intake

I figured that training for endurance sport like this,  sticking to training plan is not enough. you also need a good intake. There are many articles about diet for runners (or jogger in my case)  and I also got some info from Bintaro Runners. Rizkydd, shared his tips. A week before the race, to have a-3 day- protein loading, carbo is acceptable but only complex ones (oat, wheat) which won’t be problem for me since I had overnight oatmeal almost every day and followed by a-3 day-  carbo loading  and consume electrolyte drink consecutive days before the race. I told you, it’s not hard lho. Gw buat ini bawa ke kantor.  Pankonya malah gw ganti pake oatmeal karena ngga punya stock panko :p

Day -1

Saw many familiar faces in airport! seems every body was as excited as I am (after all, it’s in Bali).To note, this was triple K first visit to Bali after 5 years lho….

Our friend from Bintaro, MakTin (who nailed her first HM in this event at the age — yah —- sudah ngga muda tapi tetep keceeee) :p 😉 had arranged a nice affordable hotel in Seminyak. Thank you, ya Mak…

BIB had been collected by Riefa who collected 37 bibs all by himself! Ma kaseh yang bang Repa…..semoga bisa collect bib lagi di ParTon, TokyoMar, HK Mar, dan Mar Mar yang lain….*can we get the Amin? * :p

We had another carboloading in Warung Itali before magrib. Since I was tired (I woke up very early in the morning #alasan :p), decided to rush back to hotel tapi jalan aja gitu pulang karena jalan ditutup ada upacara adat. *ngok*

I walked home with Riyana and Bona, ngoceh nervous ngga jelas gimana besok 😀 *demam panggung* and pushed my self to bed after magrib. I woke up at 10 pm and checked the whatsapp group that BTR had arranged transportation for tomorrow who ride which car! these people are amazing. This group has transformed from Running Community to Sport EO! 😀

Pushed myself to bed slightly before midnight and about 2 am, my sister who completely dress up in her kece-est bernuansa biru running attire. gee, I rushed to toilet because we have to leave at 3 am (repeat 3 AM) , the latest to starting pen…Bali Safari and Marine Park.

bener banget deh ini , taken from here

marathon_definition

to be continued

 

 

8 thoughts on “(a preambule) If you want to run, run a mile

  1. Cuma bisa komen selalu terkagum-kagum kalau baca cerita loe tentang lari, Ky 🙂 dan gue selalu nyerah duluan deh kalo disuruh lari karena sejak dari SD gue selalu ada di posisi paling belakang dalam olahraga lari 😀

Leave a Reply

