BSJ – Jakarta Race Series 5K race recap 

This is  my fourth year participating on this event whilst the third for my kids. The event suppose to be held on feb 28th, unfortunately it was raining and lightning on the D day so the organizer canceled the race and May 15th was the replacement.

It is a must do race for me, simply because we’d run in Bintaro! Kampung sendiri 😉
Cince kiddo#1 would have Ujian Nasional the following day, I asked her to stay at home. So  there were only me and kiddo #2 joined the race.
Since this was a postponed-race,there were only few runners, really reduce in number but not quality.

Anyway, race start at 6.45 am and the route was exactly the same like it was years ago!
at km 1.5, it was downhill and slippery area. It was raining hard last night, Kevin fell down and his right knee was bleeding.

He cried a bit, I asked him if you want to finish the race just walk.

However, he did run and left his overweight mother behind.
There was water station at km 2.5, I took a sip as kiddo#2 took my hand tumbler with him. I couldn’t caught his sight ever since! To make story short, it took 39 mins something for me to cross the finish line which means few mins faster for kiddo#2. He said it was 37 mins something when he crossed the finish line.

 

about to cross the finish line

picture taken by Oki Pan

Last year, at the same event, it took 40:11 for him to cross the finish line.

Seine neur Best Zeit –his new PB.

 

Bintaro Trojan Runners

 

There were 2 Busselton Ironman Finishers  (the city is in Western Australia, if you are wondering) and IM 70.3 finisher in the picture. While Pak John (the white man, UK origin) got 2nd Podium, 19 mins for 5K. The rest are just-for-fun runners 😉
On the way home, kiddo#2 said he breath better. I told him that is because his swimming class. I sent him to a swimming class to support his soccer class. The swimming course supervised by Elsa Manora, yeah…the ex national athlete whose oldest sister was my all time national athlete favorite! Ratu Kolam di jamannya. If you are in my age, you can guess who I am referring to!

Anyway, I offered him to take another class, so it will be twice a week, but he said No.

oh well…

2 thoughts on “BSJ – Jakarta Race Series 5K race recap 

Leave a Reply

